Homework Assignments

Homework solutions should be submitted on the course moodle by 11:55 p.m. on the due date. Your write-up should be submitted as a PDF file along with any code (if applicable). Either a typeset or a (legible) handwritten write-up is acceptable.

Homework Assignment 10

Practice Only

Homework Assignment 9

Due Thursday, December 3, 2009

Homework Assignment 8

Due Thursday, November 19, 2009

Homework Assignment 7

Due Thursday, November 12, 2009

Homework Assignment 6

Due Friday, October 30, 2009

Homework Assignment 5

Due Thursday, October 22, 2009

Project 1

Extension: Due Sunday, October 18, 2009 Due Thursday, October 15, 2009 (Checkpoint Due Thursday, October 8, 2009)

Homework Assignment 4

Due Thursday, September 24, 2009

Homework Assignment 3

Due Thursday, September 17, 2009

Homework Assignment 2

Due Thursday, September 10, 2009

Homework Assignment 1

Due Thursday, September 3, 2009

Class Participation

It is important to attend class and read the readings.

We will have forums on the course moodle that continue the in-class discussion. You should especially use the forums to raise questions about the reading or the class discussion.

Class participation includes in-class participation, as well as participation in the forums on the course moodle. All enrolled students are required to post, on average, at least 1 substantive comment, question, or answer each week. Initial comments or questions for each class meeting should be posted before the next meeting (i.e., comments for Tuesday's meeting should be posted before Thursday, and comments for Thursday's meeting should be posted before the following Tuesday). Regular participation is expected (i.e., no postings during most of the semester and then a flurry of postings during the last week of classes will not be viewed favorably). A particularly high-level of participation (e.g., many insightful comments throughout the semester) may be rewarded with extra credit.

You may post comments or questions about the reading before the class where we will cover it, which may help focus the discussion.

Here are some examples of good comments:

The intent of the forum post is definitely not to have you perform extra reading or web searching, but rather simply to take a moment to reflect upon the day's reading or class discussion.